Update on my weight loss journey: 6 down and counting

Standard

My daughter Paloma and I flanking super master teacher Marianne Williamson after one of her Monday night lectures at the Saban Theater

My daughter Paloma and I flanking super master teacher Marianne Williamson after one of her Monday night lectures at the Saban Theater

Ever since my last post about my weight loss process “A course in weight loss: a confession and an invitation” where I described my inability to lose weight and fit into the dress I had bought for my daughter’s wedding, I have released 6 pounds and I’m feeling really good about it, as I finally fit into the dress. No sense of deprivation here, just becoming more conscious about what I eat, even within the parameters of an “impeccable,” mostly raw plant-based diet.

The results are really due to a change in consciousness prompted by the exercises I have been doing daily from Marianne Williamson’s book A Course in Weight Loss: 21 Spiritual Principles for Surrendering Your Weight Forever.

By means of that daily practice I was pushed to really look into myself and those places I was not addressing honestly. And as I did, and cleansed those parts of myself that were resisting change, I started to pay attention to resources that were right in front of my nose. For example, several months ago I had bought Alejandro Junger’s book Clean: The Revolutionary Program to Restore the Body’s Natural Ability to Heal Itself, (reviewed in a previous post “Are you ‘inflamed’?”), but had not had the time to look at it. It had been patiently waiting on my table for me to open it, and during this time of releasing resistances, it popped right in front my consciousness for me to read it. When I did, I decided to follow meticulously the “elimination diet” it proposes (see my previous post for a list of the most common allergenic and inflammation producing foods), I tweaked other aspects of my diet, and the pounds started to drop. Amazing!

As a health coach, my approach to weight loss or the jump-starting of a healthy way of eating is usually to invite my clients to start “crowding out” the unhealthy choices with nutrient-dense foods, mainly in the form of green veggie juices, smoothies and raw soups. I have found that many of my clients make astounding changes in their health by just adding these delicious drinks to their diets. (For recipes, please go here). As their bodies start receiving their quota of intelligent nutrients, their cellular memory wakes up after a slumber induced by chemicalized, processed food and other addictive substances and the cravings shift towards the fuel meant to make our bodies operate in an optimal fashion. Slowly but surely, cravings for non-supportive choices start melting away, as the body begins to crave natural, whole, clean foods.

I will be sharing this experience and offering personalized recommendations in my next program: A Course in Weight Loss: A Phone Group Coaching Program, a series of 8 phone sessions starting August 21, that will look deeply into the personal roots of excess weight and other body issues by following the principles presented in Marianne Williamson’s book. This phone group coaching program will support participants in developing a healthy relationship with their body that is honoring and respectful of its sacredness. For more information, please go here.

Register by August 15 to receive the savings!

If you’d like to receive information on my upcoming programs, please sign up here.

About Viva la Vida! Live Foods For Life

Sirena Pellarolo, Ph.D.--your second chance midwife--, supports women in their menopause years to reclaim their power from received beliefs about aging, recover their physical, mental and spiritual mastery and dive full-on into a vibrantly healthy, productive and fulfilled second half of their lives. She specializes in weight management through life-changing programs that include DIY detoxifications, live foods and powerful transformational techniques. Sirena believes in autonomous and healthy individuals and communities. As a holistic healer, she models for her clients how to courageously step center-stage in their lives by unleashing their unique personal power, creative self-expression and overall well being. Her bilingual programs inspire individuals to reconnect with their bodies, minds and spirits by going back to the basics of a healthy lifestyle: a personalized nutrient-rich diet, energizing physical movement and a meaningful spiritual practice. The seasonal community cleanses and raw food preparation classes that she has been hosting for several years offer a Do It Yourself hands-on approach to healing through nutrient-dense, plant-based choices. She is currently working on a manuscript that captures this experience titled “Detoxing Our Communities: Using Food As Medicine for a Quantum Grassroots Transformation.” She is a compelling public speaker offering wellness seminars in English and Spanish. sirena@vivamivida.com www.vivamivida.com livefoods4life.com https://soundcloud.com/sirena-pellarolo.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

